How to use “damn” appropriately

My parents grew up on the water, boating when they could, diving from now-defunct bridges, into unknown depths and fast currents – my parents are adventurers.

Thus I grew up hearing “damn” on occasion. My dad is the captain and my mother, his 2nd mate. She heard that word thrown at herself many a time but took it in character.

Oh yeah, that time my mother was hit by the boom and thrown into the water. Rescued by a burly friend who just happened to be an avid swimmer. I think that was the loudest “DAMN” I ever heard come out of my dad’s mouth.

Good parents. Fun times.

Leave a Reply

