bookends…

Once I was sitting in church and was quite sad. It seemed like my friends in the youth group had something against me or had not included me…something like that.

Then two of the cutest boys in the church came to sit next to me – one to my left and one to my right.

My mother who was up in the choir loft was nudged by a fellow Alto who happened to be the mother of one of the sons.

“Look,” she said, pointing down into the church. “Cynthia has bookends.”

And now, as I wait in Starbucks, I have another paid of “bookends.” Two sturdy but very much “taken” men. One in front of me and the other behind.

Maybe men are just meant to surround me and not be with me.

It’s all in God’s capable hands.

Leave a Reply

