how she loves…

Caressing my cheek, whispering “Peaches”, she would hold me proudly in her lap.

She was always so proud of me. Even when I disappointed her, she was proud. While that can be confusing, I hung to her approval for I did not meet my own.

Her love was wrapped in the morning cup of Russian tea, a covering of prayer, and even those times when I was spanked. She cared.

My love was returned in carrying all the groceries home from Cala Market, flower shop, coffee/tea store and the five-and-dime store.

A trip to Esprit outlet, Gunne Sax outlet, endless trips to Macy’s taught me that she loved how I looked but…

…it was always that kiss on the elbow that showed me how she loves.

Leave a Reply

