…balancing

My mother has always been good at balancing work and fun. While she had a bed and breakfast, she also delighted in creating delectable meals.

When my parents both worked, she would bicycle over to Napa County – sometimes winding up 50 miles from our house. As a family, we would often drive into wine country and buy wine, cheese and a baguette or drive to the coast to Point Reyes and walk down to the viewpoint to look at the passing whales.

I have a lot of fun memories from that period in San Francisco. Unfortunately, fun became work to me and I now view fun as having to be intentionally driven. I just don’t have fun but I need for it to work for me. Thus, I am not a fun person to be around but it works for me (puns are always acceptable).

My mother had the art of…balancing.

Leave a Reply

