…rowing

“Why with everybody around me can’t I go rowing?”

My mother pleaded with my dad and my sister with tears in her eyes.

My mother forgets to breathe and thus forgets to walk, where she is and who she is with.

She slowly loses her cognizance in her surroundings, those around her, and herself.

I wonder what it must be like to lose one’s concept of self…

But rowing, she will never forget.

Rowing takes one’s mind away from the present as drifting upon the curl of waves that unfold around and upon the vessel.

Is she rowing slowly away from us?

Can my sister say goodbye to her anchor?

…rowing

Leave a Reply

