Running errands

We first moved into a stick Victorian in the Castro District. It was on Diamond and near 24th. The ghost of a German widow was said to haunt my bedroom. My bedroom overlooked the street.

Errands included, shopping and going to the dry cleaners and the Post Office.

I think there was a Cala market on 24th where we would get some groceries.

My mother befriended the woman who owned the Coffee & Tea shop on 24th. My mother would order her beans, 3/4 Sumatra, 1/4 French while I munched on a baklava and sipped Jasmine tea.

From there we proceeded back up the street, stopping at a street flower vendor and the 5 and Dime store on the way home.

I wouldn’t let her carry the bags.

Running errands – great memories.

Leave a Reply

