Her homemade costumes

I don’t know if costume stores were available in the 1970’s but even if they were, my mother would have continued to make her own version of “costumes” for me to wear. One year I was superman, the next, a woman of the night, and yet another where I wore Grandpa Red’s suit and my mother penned a beard below my nose.

I look at those pictures now and I laugh. My pants were sagging as “superman”. A little boy asked me if I was a whore when I was robed like an elegant woman of the night.

Aside: where do 8 year olds learn the definition of a whore?

Aside (aside): Still in 4th grade I had no clue about the “B” word.

Thinking about Grandpa Red. Another subject to be had.

 

Leave a Reply

