a book, cheese, the Locks

My parents moved back up to Seattle where they found a ugly house with a view. They tried to make that rambler into something meekly resembling the Queen Anne but it was to no avail. They decided to sell it and move into an even smaller abode, a condo.

During an Open House when we all had to be gone, I decided to scoot up to the Locks with a book and some cheese. It was a lovely view, sitting on the grassy slope looking at boats going through the exchange of salt to fresh water.

My parents evidently also thought it would be a great thing to visit the Locks that day as well. My mother saw me. At first she didn’t know it was me. She turned to my dad and said quite enviably, “that girl has the idea, a book, a cheese….wait! It’s Cynthia!”

Wise parents, they left me to my own devices and told me later that night.

What a hoot! What parents! Great minds…

Leave a Reply

