…broken bones

Last Monday, my mother fell while rounding the corner in her living room and broke her wrist. Her cats like to play with sacks that have handles on them and her foot caught in the handle – down she went.

This alarmed me. I remember when my grandmother fell, her Alzheimers came full on and she never returned to her old self.

I left work early to visit my mother. She was ecstatic to see me. Funny, but that was a warning sign to me as well.

Bright red was the cloth that held her wrist together. Against the soft blue of her shirt, the look was stunning.

My mother didn’t want to go to the emergency room so my dad souped her up on Ibuprofen until they could make an appointment to see the doctor in the morning.

That’s my parents and their broken bones.

…….broken……….

 

 

Leave a Reply

