…and then….

My son and I visited my mother for Mother’s Day.

We were talking about the size of his feet. He was just saying how there are no more sizes for the shoes that he was wearing when my mother interrupted.

“That makes me remember the time that my bet friend Marilyn and I met these two guys…”

And she went on. Nothing about shoes but that is my mother.

There are stories that lead to others but hers was an “and then” without slight resemblance.

Mistake me not. I don’t write this to deride her but to point out how the mind of one with Alzheimers engages with the world – with her family – with me.

Leave a Reply

