Russian Tea, Morning With Mother

My mother knew how to make mornings very special. Making me a cup of Russian Tea, she would gently wake me up with refreshment, accompanied by toast.

Waffles were made on occasion with a slice of bacon or apple in the batter and then doused with syrup after cooked. She bought only the best of ingredients, often going to Petrini’s to gather ingredients.

For my dad, she would prepare hashbrowns and small steaks along with apple sauce topped with a dash of cinnamon.

She didn’t spoil every day but at times when she probably had the energy and foremost, when she knew my dad and I needed extra pampering.

My bowl of raw onions, raw garlic, peanuts, slathered in olive oil don’t quite make up for her delicious breakfasts. But my children now receive their own variety of love in the morning.

Russian Tea, Morning With Mother

Leave a comment